Charles Evans


Saxophonist Charles Evans creates lush and dark moods, with original compositions and classic jazz ballads. The album features Evans in duet with long-time partner—Philadelphia-based guitarist Eric Dutko; and with a classic rhythm section featuring Neil Shah on piano, Moppa Elliott on bass, and Eli Hludzik on drums. Ballads was recorded in the spring of 2004 and is a landmark achievement in baritone saxophone elegance.

Read a review of Ballads on eJazzNews.

Full Track Listing

  1. Alas Dances
  2. Infant Eyes
  3. Chelsea Bridge
  4. Like Someone in Love
  5. Body and Soul
  6. I Remember Clifford
  7. For Ta

Ballads is made possible through a partnership with Hot Cup Records.

Add $2.00 for shipping. Delivered in 1–2 weeks.

Charles Evans - Ballads

$10.99 + 2.00 shipping

Evans has tackled the sometimes difficult challenge of interpreting ballads with sufficient sensitivity to reach the listener's emotions and with still enough originality to claim the music, frequently played by others, as his own. -Bill Donaldson, Cadence Magazine


  • Charles Evans-Baritone Saxophone
  • Neil Shah-Piano
  • Eric Dutko-Electric Guitar
  • Moppa Elliott-Bass
  • Eli Hludzik-Drums